At the end of the day..we all belong

2017 will be a challenging year for those of work who advocate for the needs and rights of immigrants and refugees.
It’s the year where fear and anxiety has crept into the lives of people in North America. In one of my daily jobs, I work with immigrants and refugees. It is a rich and rewarding experience that I could never imagine not doing. As an immigrant myself get to engage with people who are different from me and that’s OK. In fact, that is really what makes work a beautiful experience for me.
People come to Canada for safety or to make a better life. Sometimes that comes with a lot of trade offs that most could of us could never imagine ourselves giving up. Essentially,  you lose the things that make up who are but yet embrace some things that will enhance who you become.
At the end of the day, you just want be accepted and included just like any other human being, even though we are different. Is this something so hard for the world around us to accept???
We all belong, we all fit in this crazy puzzle and that’s what makes us the human race.
At the end of the day, we all bleed the same.
At the end of the day, I can only change where I can in the little corner I hold.
At the end of the day, I am thankful for who I am as I embrace who I am becoming from this life experience.
At the end of the day, I am still that girl from Barbados who came to Canada to fulfill a dream.
At the end of the day I am becoming someone far different from who I could have imagined 10 years ago.img_20160922_141242
Leave a Reply

